Challenge: Use Edward Bulwer-Lytton’s “It was a dark and stormy night” as the beginning of a poem or story

Morris Kiruga

It was a dark and stormy night when she first lay her eyes on his well-built chest. Through the gleaming rain drops in the dimly lit torrent, she ogled at the six foot tall, dark and seemingly handsome man. His chest, for that is where it all started, is what we are talking about, how it fitted into his thick neck, looking somewhat like an inverted triangle to which our protagonist’s befell, and from which she never recovered. She moved closer, but he just stood there like the statue he had been carved out to be.

Eric Mugendi Nyaga

It was a dark and stormy night; and the lady of the house, a tall, busty woman who did not look a day over seventy, despite her curved spine, deeply wrinkled brow and the shock of white hair above her otherwise solidly square bearded chin, went about closing and barring the windows, oblivious of the noise from the ménage a trois going on above her. “Alas!!”, she mumbled ostensibly to herself, “I’ll have to sakanya for some mabatis for that leaking roof!!” All hell broke loose, as the bed and its three occupants crashed through the ceiling, killing them instantly.

Jonathan Paul

It was a dark and stormy night; the rain was falling Tap Tap Tap, and the clouds were very dark. No sooner had lightning struck than the thunder roared, she hold tighter, her toes were causing my knees to feel ticklish; she was cold and short. As the small ant distinguishes the scent of mango juice and follows it through creeks and nooks to the table outside, I had searched far and wide for an albino dwarf, and found one. Would it choke her, I wondered as I cuffed our feet together. Her sweet short morsel, I would later taste.

Zaynah McAdam

It was a dark and stormy night; and getting stuck in an odd looking hurt truck didn’t make the matters any better. The head lights from the car pushed away darkness just a short distance ahead of the car, which was now immersed in mud and unable to move even an inch of a mile, except when I tried my violent best to yank it back to life.

Edwin Thedivinebandit Mukabi

It was a dark and stormy night, under her legs. I could almost certainly feel it. Moreover, even the he-goats and dogs around were barking and bleating respectively. She put one foot in front of the other and glided ungracefully towards me. My heart was pounding like a throbbing headache. I also started coming towards her. I was ever-smiling sheepishly due to the homo-phonic pun. She should never have sat on that hard, wet sack of pure African charcoal for so long. Nonetheless I loved how warm it had become as she gave it to me. Sweet lord of puns!!

 

Leave a Reply

The Divine Bandit™

My life, My words, My strife, My awards, My sins, My achievements, My love, My all....

Carolmsuper

Stories, just stories!

lyricalaesthetic

just a blog

Lonyika Local: Africa Local Products & Festivals

To provide quality, exciting and local agricultural products, accommodation resorts, fashion apparels, product Innovations, nature travels, entertainment studios and sporting activities.

Our Beautiful sceneries Kenya

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

franklinenyaga

Just another WordPress.com site

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

BBonuke's Blog

BOTH LOVE AND PAIN DEMAND TO BE FELT SO LET THEM

Owaahh

One story is good, till another is told.

Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

DANNY THE POET

The poetic side of life

Her Life Lessons

Interesting insights. Inspiring. Entertaining.

